Something I’ve found myself extremely thankful for lately is the opportunity to know the names of the gods.

When I first came to polytheism I read many things that were limited in the way they described the gods– Loki is a god of fire, Freya is a goddess of love, etc.– but I’ve been lucky to find the fortitude to stay the course and dig a little bit deeper. It feels like an incalculably precious gift to be able to know the gods’ names– the names that are shared by all people, the heiti that are remembered in the fragments of old stories and lessons, and the new kennings folk create for love of the gods. Names have profound depth to them, contain new and different knowledge through which we can come to each god. That we have and can make so many is wonderful.

I’m blessed to live in a time where these things are known and shared as widely as they are and I hope that in my lifetime I can serve to spread this knowledge further. To know the gods is a gift.

3 thoughts on “A little gratitude to share

  1. Every heiti, every epithet is a Mystery and a chance to know Them in new ways and deeper. what a beautiful post.

    1. Thank you! I’ve been struck often by this lately. It’s just… such a blessing to know Them. I like to think I would love Them even if I did not know Their names, too, but we’re fortunate enough to have so much information and to be able to share it. It makes me so happy!

Questions, confusions, or mad distortions of reality?